New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm fairly new at fishing and I would like to know where I can fish for trout around the Moncton area, anywhere that would be 30mins ish out is ok. Also I use a spinning reel with a spinner, weights and a floater, I use berkley's bait as well, just wondering if that is a good set up for rivers? Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks

·
Registered
6 Posts
hey, I live in riverview and do a lot of fishing in thus area. you can go up Salisbury road (riverview side) and fish the little river just before Salisbury, and just when youre going into Salisbury theres the peticodiac river and just up stream from there is where the pollet river joins the peticodiac river and north rivers. as well you can drive out past the turtle creek dam and keep going up route 912 until you get to prosser brook and fish that theres always good trout fishing there. and if ya wanna head up mcgaulin road till you hit the cocange river theres good fishing there as well. all within your driving range.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Hey Slyguyty,

You are right on all places except that I never have caught any in the Cocagne River in all my years of fishing. When do the sea trout usually run there?

·
Registered
109 Posts
The problem on Cocagne river is the fisherman/sea trout ratio (I would say 50:1 lol....:-( ). Also, pretty much all fishermen there have the old mentality of keeping every fish they catch. I already talk to a guy there who showed me his catch of the day. There was 3 small 4 inches trout and 2 salmon parr... This river should be Catch and release only for at least 5 years..my opinion..

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·