New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey ther,

i'll start off by saying i'm new to fishing the SJ river and im all geared up for muskie with the proper nets for release and take pride in letting a fish go to be caught another day.....ive done my research and have a pretty good idea of how to fish and where to look for them (i think??)

its been afew months and i've spent probably 4 weekends sun up to sun down lookin for the "big one" (minus some smb fishing to break up the day)..... i've had a couple "follows" from big fish and been catching quite a few smaller ones in the 2ft range....even managed to land one fatty around 3ft.....
im wondering if spending my time in the zone 1 area from around woodstock to nackawic is a waste of gas in the truck and if i could be having the same success a bit closer to say freddy or elsewhere?......or maybe im lookin the wrong spots where im at?

i realize fishing for these beauties is not that easy and that i have had some moderate success...any input would be awesome, i'm not lookin for somebody to give away ther spots but maybe just discuss some techniques and general info that has worked for them.....

and yes i know about the chapter website..... i really do respect what they are doing and love the enthusiasm surrounding these awesome fish... but i'm not a tournament fisherman, i go fishing to "get away from it all" and im not looking to spend anymore than it already costs to get out on the water.....i didnt find the site all that helpful for actually catching fish

·
Registered
428 Posts
hey ther,

i'll start off by saying i'm new to fishing the SJ river and im all geared up for muskie with the proper nets for release and take pride in letting a fish go to be caught another day.....ive done my research and have a pretty good idea of how to fish and where to look for them (i think??)