New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I'm an amateur fisher wondering about setups. Here are some questions I have . And yes some of them might be stupid lol .

1. Line setups - spinners used alone ? or with a combination of worm ? any need for floaters ?

2. weight / water depth- what are the depth of the rivers usually ? how can i tell how much weight i should use to get deep ?

had more questions but i'll come back when I remember them

·
Registered
540 Posts
Well I'm an amateur fisher wondering about setups. Here are some questions I have . And yes some of them might be stupid lol .

1. Line setups - spinners used alone ? or with a combination of worm ? any need for floaters ?

2. weight / water depth- what are the depth of the rivers usually ? how can i tell how much weight i should use to get deep ?

had more questions but i'll come back when I remember them
First of all, there are no stupid questions when it comes to finding out about fishing.. education will be the key to getting better. Now to get to your questions..

As for line setups.. ( I personally don't use live bait but I do use spinners from time to time) Panther martins and mepps inline spinners are my favorite of the type. Many prefer to have a swivel attached to remove any spin or twist from the line but I have never had an issue with line twist that I couldn't handle and I find that it takes away from the action (personal preference completely) I don't use a line or strike indicator as I cast and retrieve these types of baits.