New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I need to tie up a bunch of salmon patterns for when I go salmon fishing in june and july and have some questions about certain flies.

1. One of the flies is a white and red marabou muddler. Would that be white with a red tail or what?
2. For bombers should I use salmon hooks? What would you use?
3. What sizes should my blue charms, undertakers, cossebooms, ect be?
4 What size should my bombers and green machines be?
5. How should I tie my small brown bugs? White tail, flash tail?

Thanks, Any info is great. Sorry for so many questions but I'm new to salmon fishing and want to have a good time.

·
Registered
97 Posts
NUmber 6 hook is pretty much all I ever use , for green machines, cossebooms or bugs in variation of long an short . I find green and double butt works better in early summer and red in the late summer to fall. Usually tie my bombers on number 4 's . flash tails works good but i can't say any better then just plain or white tail as I see just as many hooked on either . I mainly fish cosseboom's solely . 8lb leader in high water 6lb in low water . hope this helps keep your line tight!

·
Registered
26 Posts
i recommend blue charms that you tie many different sizes. Ive had luck on a number 12 blue charm and ive had luck on a number 6 blue charm. Ive never became a fan of flash as ive had no luck with flash. The thing about salmon fishing is a fly is only as good as it is in your past experiences. If you hook a fish on a blue charm then your a fan of blue charm, but a person thats never hooked a fish on a blue charm is unlikely to turn to blue charm before other flies.
My advice on tying is tying the same pattern on a number of different size hooks, and after throwing bigger out first and you have no luck, go down a couple of sizes.

·
Registered
125 Posts