New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I am new to the area (moncton). I just moved here from ontario and would love to get some ice fishing in. Would like to try fishing for smelt as I have never done that through the ice before.

I was just wondering if anyone could give me some leads on areas to go to (hopefully within an hour of moncton if possible) and maybe even if anyone knows about any hut rentals that might possibly be out there.
Any great leads or info would be greatly appreciated, no matter how minor!

Thanks and good luck to all!

·
Registered
457 Posts
Take a drive up to Shediac and the Pointe du chene wharf. There are smelt shacks in this area and if you look across the bay u can see shacks on the other side (shediac cape). Dont know of any for rent. people just take their auger and gear and sit on a bucket or whatever to fish. I used to put my shack at Shediac Cape but its just too crappy this year for me. Waiting for the soft water !!!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Take a drive up to Shediac and the Pointe du chene wharf. There are smelt shacks in this area and if you look across the bay u can see shacks on the other side (shediac cape). Dont know of any for rent. people just take their auger and gear and sit on a bucket or whatever to fish. I used to put my shack at Shediac Cape but its just too crappy this year for me. Waiting for the soft water !!!!
Thanks, casey for your reply! I will take a drive there and see what I can come up with. Unfortunately when I moved here I left all my gear with my brother in ontario, so that is why I am kinda lookin for a hut rental... something where most of the gear is provided, that and I am planning on taking a new ice fisher with me, so I want to try and make the experience as enjoyable for them as possible...lol
I am more than o.k with the bucket on the ice myself...
Thanks again for the response.

·
Registered