New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to Fredericton, moved here a few years ago for school and now that I have brought my fishing gear up with me I need the help to locate some public fishing areas. I fish both spin rod and fly fishing but I am fairly new to the fly fishing community. Any advice one may have of spots along the nashwaak that are legal to fly fish or any good places to use my spin rod would be greatly appreciated since I currently do all my fly fishing in Doaktown but the drive is to long for a quick fish after work. Also any tips on lures and flies that seem to work in these places would be a ton of help. Thanks again for any information you can give me.

Cheers

·
Registered
79 Posts
Hi,

I am new to Fredericton, moved here a few years ago for school and now that I have brought my fishing gear up with me I need the help to locate some public fishing areas. I fish both spin rod and fly fishing but I am fairly new to the fly fishing community. Any advice one may have of spots along the nashwaak that are legal to fly fish or any good places to use my spin rod would be greatly appreciated since I currently do all my fly fishing in Doaktown but the drive is to long for a quick fish after work. Also any tips on lures and flies that seem to work in these places would be a ton of help. Thanks again for any information you can give me.

Cheers
Hi Burke

Fredericton is great for fishing (in fact I just did a blog post about it here).

The mouth of the Nashwaak can get you into smallies, stripers & bass. It's public water throughout the Nashwaak, though after July 1st, it's fly fishing only from the Marysville Bridge & up. Note there is no season on salmon, you can't target them & must release them immediately if you hook into them. There is a closed section near the Rte 107 bridge on the Nashwaak, however.