New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Looking to buy a new fly reel but only want to spend 200 bucks
What weight line are you planning to load on it? Depending on the size of the reel you need, you can get Lamson, Orvis and other quality brands at around $200.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Looking to buy a new fly reel but only want to spend 200 bucks
try these guys...great prices on Orvis and can even get you into my personal favs Hardy
for around $200....the Korean made ones but still made to Hardy standards so good reels.

www.flyshopcloseouts.com

·
Registered
250 Posts
I've had a blast buying my reels on ebay; got some hardys under $200.00. Got a Sage 508 made by Hardy in the 80's for $165.00 (noone is watching/bidding in summer)

·
Registered
428 Posts
honestley im just starting out snd dont no much
all I have to say about okuma is they aren't as good as they may look... I've had their top of the line reels.... mostly junk

It all depends what your fly fishing for... if it's salmon or striped bass, you want something of good quality, do your research online, I just use old hardy and JW Young reels I bought second hand that are more than capable... I have some new fly reels like Redington, LL Bean, etc that I bought because they appear to be decent quality and were priced right and while they look nice and are smoother than a hardy or JW young, you can't drop them once and awhile like the older reels. If your just fishing trout, buy a 20-30 dollar reel off of ebay as it will just hold line for the most part, unless your getting trout over 2-3l bs on a regular basis...

·
Registered
53 Posts
What should I look while buying a new fly reels (LW8-9) ? Any tips?