New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

Newbie here. About 10-15 years ago I used breathable waders in and around Southern NB. Now, I'm starting to get back into fly fishing and will be purchasing some waders this week. I wanted to know what other folk are using in around these rivers. I'm leaning towards neo for the durability but am worried they might turn into saunas this summer.

Any input would be great!

Thank you.

·
Registered
540 Posts
I have several pairs of Neoprene and yes they are durable.. however in the warmer weather you will be soaked from sweat. It is worth the money to get a pair of breathables for sure. Good luck, so many out there to choose from. Let us know what you get...

·
Registered
298 Posts
I agree with extream, I suggest look at the time your gonna be fishing .. if your into spring and fall fishing neoprene, if your gonna be on the water June thru Sept. ? you might wanna get some breathables. pick the most important buy them and make next year the other set .. Happy wading

·
Registered
184 Posts
Definitely buy breathable waders. Stocking foot model with a good supportive wading boot if you're going to be walking/wading any kind of distance. Boot foot models are fine if you are spending most of your time getting in and out of a boat.

·
Streamside Pro Staff ><(((*>
2,366 Posts
If you're getting back into fly fishing, get two pairs: one neoprene for early spring, and one breathable sock foot with boot for later. Or, if you just want to go with one pair, make it breathable with sockfoot and boot, but in the spring, wear a pair of sweat pants or long johns so you don't go hypothermic.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Wow. Thank you exstreamfisherman, zamboni-guy, Twinfan and Stroover (great handles!). Very insightful responses! I'm going to get myself some sockfoot breathables this year and maybe ask my lady for some neo's for Christmas!