New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i live in sackville and i was wondering where a good place to try to hook a salmon. it is my first year fishing salmon and i need help.I am heading to miramichi on sunday so if any on can help that wood be good

·
Registered
68 Posts
Jon, I too have just started to salmon fish here in NB. I can attest that it's a difficult and intimidating fish to go after. There are a lot of rules and regulations around the fishery, and knowing what waters to fish and when is a task in it's self for a newbie. I made my first real trip early this week when I was lucky enough to be invited along to the North Pole Stream Crown Reserve with three other experienced salmon fishers. My suggestion would be to find somebody with experience to take you out and show you the ropes. Even if you find water you can fish, there is so much more to know.

I wish you the best of luck, as I can tell you...Once you catch your first Salmon, you be absolutely hooked.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I wood like to know what type of fly they are going for right now and if there is a good spot to soak a fly that i may have a good chance to hook a salmon.

·
Registered
122 Posts
I heard those bass can get pretty big.

I thought it was a salmon you was holding up...That would of been a pretty dumb idea to brag about a salmon, taking your picture and posting it on this site.

Sorry I can't help with advice...Sackville is foreign to me...

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
if i caught a salmon i would no where to go and what fly's to use and i would not be asking advice,and i would take my pic and post it but it would be at the brook and i would let it go.sackville nb is on the border of nova scotia

·
Registered
91 Posts