New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being a rookie I have no clue what I should have for flies. I probably have 30 flies know but I I don't know if I need different ones for the June run, sizes based on water levels, etc. I think choosing a fly is like choosing a golf ball and golf clubs, they all do the job but you personally trust one over the other.

So here is the question, if you had to start from scratch and buy flies, what is the bare minimum you think you need and what types/sizes to fish from June to the end of Oct?

·
Registered
182 Posts
I think having at least a couple dozen good flies should help you. You would want to have different types of flies and different colors. Bugs, wet flies, dry flies,... Use #2s and #4s for higher water and #6s and lower the rest of the time. There are a lot of flies that you can use all season long. I know some guys that use fall patterns in June and hook fish. You just never know what they're taking!

·
Registered
250 Posts
I think you hit it right on Moose; whatever fly you have confidence in is the one to use and that's usually because you've had luck with it in the past so you know it works. A few weeks ago I used a #10 white tail GM in high water just because I didn't have one bigger on me and landed a grilse. I've probly only used a total of 8 or ten different flies this whole season!
I watch the reports like Wilson's and he usually has some good suggestions on flies and sizes for the time of the year/water conditions.
The Captain has some good advice there too

·
Registered
113 Posts