New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I have been fishing with a rod and reel for about 30 years now but would like to move on to bigger and better things. I moved to NB a few years ago and spend more time watching the people around me fly fishing than I do watching my own line lol. It looks like so much more fun than sitting on the bank waiting for the end of my rod to twitch. I would like to get into this art but know nothing about it. I would like to get a fly rod and reel for trout and practice on them before I try for Salmon. Any advice on a good size flyrod and reel for small trout would be great. Any other advice at all would be very appreciated

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
If you are in Saint John, go see Don Gallager 172 Pauline St. 645-1170. He can fix you up with anything you need.

·
Registered
395 Posts
Moncton area go see Bryant Freeman at Eskape Anglers
23 Wentworth Drive, Riverview, NB E1B 2T4

(506) 386-6269

·
Registered
184 Posts
The conventional wisdom for your first trout rod is to select and 8' to 9' rod using a 5 weight line. Depending on the specific watershed that you will usually be fishing I might suggest slightly modifying that choice. The shops listed above are great if you can get to them.

I would also highly recommend Tom Rosenbauer's (free) podcasts. They cover pretty much every topic in language that the new fly fisher will follow easily. Do a search for "Orvis Fly Fishing Guide podcast". Once you decide on a rod there are a thousand questions about lines, leaders, flies, casting, etc. The podcasts will give you about 5 years worth of knowledge in a couple of hours of listening.

·
Registered
79 Posts
I second the recommendation for the Orvis podcast. So much good information on there.