New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What do you all think about the notion that there might not be a "real" fall run this year because of the high water this summer? I've heard this from many well known and experienced anglers. I'm positive that the fish will still be there but maybe in smaller numbers.

·
Registered
298 Posts
What do you all think about the notion that there might not be a "real" fall run this year because of the high water this summer? I've heard this from many well known and experienced anglers. I'm positive that the fish will still be there but maybe in smaller numbers.
Captian I'm no expert ! But I have to reply to this. Is your question valid ? Absoutley ! I pondered this the whole summer. Here is my take on this summer.

I start fishing a certain salmon river every long weekend in May. So this May, I geared upped to fish this river but I always targeted trout and make a weekend out of it scouting for the summer run of salmon . ( checking pools and trails into them ) This past May I was dumbfounded I was all geared to fish for trout. 3wt and a 4wt as a spare. My 1st nite after doing alot of walking and having no action I said to myself something is not right. I always had great fishing trout this time of year here. I packed it in went back to my camp site started a fire and started to ponder all of a sudden ... splash that was May 21st. I took it as a beaver maybe an anaimal. I proceeded to cook supper and sure enough I heard this again ... I knew then but was confused ... way too early for salmon but it was. That next morning I was on the river at 6:30 am once again with my 3 wt. I did hook into some trout but that big trout that was leaping was a grilse !!