New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to this site and to fly fishing. I did a little fly fishing when I was a teenager using other peoples' rods. So I found a great deal at Canadian Tire for a beginner's fly rod- it's probably not very good compared to many peoples' equipment. I'm very hesitant to spend too much as I'm just starting out, but if it would improve things to get a better line and some better flies, then I'd shell out for that kind of stuff.

I went out fishing around the Dieppe area today, and caught nothing. I therefore have some questions about fly fishing. I'd appreciate any help you folks could give me.

My kit came with a few flys including a Royal Coachman. Why did the Royal Coachman fly sink? It didn't stay on the surface as I'd have thought it would, as it is a dry fly. Is it just a crappy fly?

How long should a leader be? Seemed to get snagged a lot, and didn't really work as I imagined it would.

How should a leader be attached to the line? I just knotted it on, and it didn't seem to be the best.

I was trying to catch some trout in some areas with lots of trees and various obstructions. How shoud I cast a fly in a limited area due to trees?

I appreciate your help in advance.

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
I'm brand new to this site and to fly fishing. I did a little fly fishing when I was a teenager using other peoples' rods. So I found a great deal at Canadian Tire for a beginner's fly rod- it's probably not very good compared to many peoples' equipment. I'm very hesitant to spend too much as I'm just starting out, but if it would improve things to get a better line and some better flies, then I'd shell out for that kind of stuff.

I went out fishing around the Dieppe area today, and caught nothing. I therefore have some questions about fly fishing. I'd appreciate any help you folks could give me.