New Brunswick Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie with lots of years of fishing, but never caught a Striper. Noticed the blog essentially ends in June. Are the Stripers gone from our area after June? Are they still in the Bay? Can they be caught from a boat in Chance or Dipper Harbour, or Maces Bay this time of the year? I was at Five Islands, Nova Scotia (Minas Basin) last weekend and folks at the RV campground were bragging about catching them during the night (high tide) in the shallows. Makes me think that areas like theMaces Bay Basin must have similar characteristics to Five Islands? Please let me know if I'm wasteing my time thinking about Stripers this time of the year.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Yes you can catch them from the surf.It isn't nearly as popular as it is in NS.In the Bay in NB the best fishing hasn't even started yet.You can fish until you freeze and still catch them.If you need any advice ask away!Where are you located?

·
Registered
1,727 Posts
nbmudman has it right, stripers are really just starting here.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks NBmudman!

Gonna take the boat out about an hour before high tide on Sunday on Maces Bay. Any recommendations for where to look for them? Mouth of Lepreau river maybe or in the Maces Bay basin near the bridge? What do you use for lures and what method from a boat? Saw an early post mention Storm green eels. Do you cast and retrive them or let them sit?

·
Registered
438 Posts
Id hit the mouth of the Lepreau, ive seen guys fishing schoolies right below the falls there often, might get the bigger guys out near the mouth

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks Pond-Jumper. I will try the mouth and the basin as well. If that doesn't work I'll set the downriggers and troll to see if I can find them. I'll post the results

·
Registered
64 Posts