• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 brewbastid

brewbastid

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 April 2018 - 07:22 PM

I've been fishing the Hammond for a few years now and with the exception of a couple fish, I've only ever caught bass there. Are the trout gone? Or do I just have terrible luck / skill haha? 

Is there anywhere around the greater SJ area where you can flyfish for trout? 

#2 alarsene

alarsene

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • LocationFredericton

Posted 19 April 2018 - 01:25 PM

It's to early . The water is still cold and the sea trout aren't up yet.

#3 brewbastid

brewbastid

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 05:13 PM

I know it's too early right now but i'm more reffering to trout in general. Like I mentioned in the post, it's something I've noticed over the past few years

#4 Jim VE9WH

Jim VE9WH

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1326 posts
  • LocationSaint John, NB

Posted 19 April 2018 - 09:06 PM

Yes there are still trout in the Hammond

Jim VE9WH

#5 Atoqwa'su

Atoqwa'su

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 386 posts

Posted 20 April 2018 - 08:16 AM

There are very few trout now on the Hammond as compared to say ten years ago, regardless that it's still too early. There are several contributing factors involved which I will not get into, with the bass being only one component in the mix.

#6 dustinjm87

dustinjm87

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 22 April 2018 - 07:35 AM

Welcome to almost all bodies of water in New Brunswick that contain trout. The combination of a 5 keep limit and the fact you're allowed to keep them before they even reach the size of maturity combined with a mentality around here that trout are for food and not fun, then you sprinkle on a little I've got to pack the freezer full of trout for winter and you're left with very few fish after decades of poor conservation.

#7 Flytosser

Flytosser

• Members
  • PipPip